CWCO 2009 Tuesday: Fiction!

cwco_topic1Like many writers, I have a novel that is always floating around in the twilight of my daily ponderings, a sort of “Christy” meets “Out of Africa” based on my experiences the year I spent teaching at a mission school in Senegal, West Africa. (In my darker moments I contemplate writing in a character based on someone who has a knack for getting on my last nerve, and having that person die from some lingering, exotic disease.) But like many of my great ideas, the book has never seen the light of day.  Like many writers, I have lots of creative ideas … but lack the skills (most notably the discipline) to pull it off.

If this sounds like you, congratulations! Today’s conference is just what you need to give you that virtual kick-in-the-pants to get your most treasured ideas on to actual paper. Whether your interest is murder mysteries or historical fiction or short stories, there is something just for you!

In between chats, don’t forget to check out the ongoing workshops, where you can get a jump start by writing that pivotal scene … and getting instant feedback!

Break a finger!

This entry was posted in CWCO and tagged , by hsaxton. Bookmark the permalink.

About hsaxton

Heidi Hess Saxton is an adoptive parent of two children, and converted to Catholicism in 1994. She is adoptive parent columnist at CatholicMom.com and CatholicExchange.com. She also writes for the Parenting Channel at AnnArbor.com. In her spare time, she is finishing up her Master's thesis at Sacred Heart Major Seminary in Detroit.

1 thought on “CWCO 2009 Tuesday: Fiction!

  1. You should definitely go for it and write it. I never thought I’d be able to write a novel, but going through the National Novel Writing Month process really forced me to sit down and do it. I know that you could to!

    Best wishes,
    Patrice

    Like

Leave a comment