Wee Cook Wednesday: Corn Spoon Bread

This moist and fluffy corn bread is a favorite at potlucks and casual family dinners. Tastes great with turkey, too!

If your crew isn’t fond of Swiss cheese, cheddar works well, too! Kids enjoy mixing it together and sprinkling the cheese. I like eating the leftovers for lunch with clam chowder or tomato soup.

Heidi’s Corn Spoon Bread

2 eggs, slightly beaten
1-8 oz can cream-style corn
1-8 oz can whole kernel corn, drained
1 C sour cream
1/2 C butter or margarine, melted
1 pkg Jiffy corn bread mix
1 C shredded Swiss or cheddar cheese

Combine all the ingredients except the cheese. Mix well, spread in greased 2-qt casserole.  Bake at 350 for 35 minutes. Sprinkle cheese on top and bake 10-15 minutes longer, or until knife inserted 1 inch from edge comes out clean. Enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “Wee Cook Wednesday: Corn Spoon Bread

  1. what is “spoon bread”?

    my family comes from the south (Texas and Louisana) cornbread is definitely not something eaten with a spoon…it’s sweet, rich, and filling….. 😉 if done right.

    just curious.

    Like

  2. Well, this is sweet, rich, and filling … It’s also messy if you try to eat it with your fingers! (Hence the “spoon” part of “spoon bread.”)

    It’s more like a pudding than a bread, really. But it sure does taste good!

    Like

  3. Mmm… looks delicious!

    I realized just last week that I have less than a year left at home, and that I’m not nearly as familiar with the kitchen as I would like. I’ve hauled out the recipe books, and am saving all the blog recipes I encounter.

    So this recipe came at a timely moment! Cornbread is a favourite of my family’s.

    Like

  4. Rats — I have everything but the creamed corn in my pantry or I’d be making this right now. Good news for my waistline but not for my taste buds. This looks delish!

    Like

Leave a comment