Wee Cook Wednesday: Real Caramel Apples

If you love picking fresh country apples in the fall … but hate unwrapping all those little caramels to cover ’em up, this recipe is for you! (Note: Do not double this recipe; make multiple batches instead.)

In my last newsletter, I told the story of my first kiss, which I received when I was twelve at my family’s “Harvest Party,” over a pot of bubbling caramel for apples. (To subscribe to the newsletter, just drop me a note at hsaxton@christianword.com). So this “Real Caramel Apples” recipe has a special place in my heart. I make them almost every year for my little gobblins. I hope you enjoy them, too!

Real Caramel Apples

1 C butter
2 C brown sugar, packed
1 C Karo syrup
1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
2 tsp vanilla
10 apples with popsicle sticks inserted
1 sheet buttered wax paper

In heavy saucepan, combine butter, sugar, syrup, and sc milk. Bring to a boil over medium heat about 40 minutes, until candy thermometer reads 248 degrees (firm ball stage). Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Dip each apple in caramel mixture, turning to coat, and place on waxed paper (the butter on the paper keeps the caramel from sticking to it).

Leave a comment